Tuesday, September 04, 2007


Finalists for 4th Premio Tomas Arejola Named

Two essays, two short stories and ten collections of poetry are in contention for top honors in the Region’s most coveted literary prize.

This was announced recently by Carlos Arejola, chairman of the Bicol-wide Premio Tomas Arejola para sa Literaturang Bikolnon. The literature award is named in honor of the Bicolano nationalist writer and patriot, and a leading member of the Propaganda Movement and the Malolos Congress.

Cited in the essay category are: “Ringgaw nin Imahinasyon, Kawat sa Pagtukdo” by Judith Balares-Salamat of Pili, Camarines Sur” and “An Dalan nin Pakikisumaro” by Adrian V. Remodo of Lagonoy, Camarines Sur.

The finalists for the fiction category are: “Abaniko” by Marissa Reorizo-Casillan of Naga City and “An Kris” by Irene L. Taniegra of Pili, Camarines Sur.

The ten poetry collections cited this year are as follows: “Ini, an mga buhay ta” by Jaime Jesus Borlagdan of Tabaco City; “Tinalbong ko su Tibabong” by Ryan B. de los Reyes of Baao, Camarines Sur; “Mga Tigsik” by Aida B. Cirujales of Naga City; “Agbay a Oras Sana” by Eurely P. Arroyo of Buhi, Camarines Sur; “Paradakop kan Pangiturugan” by Marissa Reorizo-Casillan of Naga City; “Hapiyap kan Kalangitan” by Jerico Rebadeo of Calabanga, Camarines Sur; “Rawitdawit Haleng Camaligan”
by Jhonald A. Caballero of Camaligan, Camarines Sur; “Sa Banal asin sa Mga Tampalasan” by Adrian V. Remodo of Lagonoy, Camarines Sur: “Lagatak sa Riles kan Tren”by Christine P. Cordez of Milaor, Camarines Sur; and “Antisipasyon asin iba pang mga rawitdawit” by Victor Dennis T. Nierva of San Fernando, Camarines Sur.

The said finalists will receive the PTALB Diploma of Merit on September 19, this year at the St. Vincent de Paul Auditorium of the Holy Rosary Minor Seminary in Naga City. The best entries, to be named in said occasion, will receive P2,500 and
the PTALB gold medallion. A grand prize winner shall then be chosen from the among the category winners and will be conferred the title Parasurat nin Taon (Writer
of the Year) and receive P10,000 cash. The public is invited to the awarding ceremonies.

The Arejola Foundation for Social Responsibility, the prime mover of the annual literary tilt, also spearheads the Juliana Arejola-Fajardo Workshop sa Pagsurat-Bikol and the Aldaw ni Ludovico outreach program. The latter commemorates the 1900 ascension of Gen. Ludovico Arejola as over-all commander of Ambos Camarines during the Filipino-American War.

1 comment:

nitzedroc said...

when will be the next premio?